How Our Curriculum Fits Together

Firstly some general information about Love2Learn Curriculum to set the scene:

  • Love2Learn Curriculum comprehensively covers children from Grade 00 to Grade 9.
  • From Grade 10 to Grade 12 we offer support via our online learning platform, through our sister company Imperial International College – Online Education for High School – which aligns with the Cambridge Curriculum and helps prepare independent students wishing to write the prestigious International GCSE (Grade 10 & Grade 11) and AS-Level (Grade 12)examinations.
  • The prestigious AS-Level school-leaving qualification is recognized by every University in South Africa, as well as by many other institutions around the world.
  • Our Grade 8 and Grade 9 have been designed with International GCSE and AS-Levels in mind. In addition, we have included a spread of Cambridge Checkpoint and pre- International GCSE resources across our Grade 7, 8 and 9 subject offering, so that these levels create even more enhanced stepping-stones of preparation for the start of International GCSE in Grade 10.

Love2Learn Curriculum comprises a combination of two categories of subjects –



For a comprehensive education of a child, you will require a combination of both  DISCIPLINE STUDIES (at the appropriate Grade level) as well as at least a selection of  subjects from our CONTENT STUDIES.


Certain subjects – specifically the content/cultural subjects, like Bible, Geography, Biology, Science, History etc. – can be taught using what’s known as the “one-room schoolhouse” concept.

Viz. these subjects can be taught to all of your children (within limits) all at the same time on a single topic per lesson, without holding the eldest child back, or compromising the understanding of the youngest child.

At Love2Learn we group these subjects under the banner, which we call CONTENT STUDIES.

We are intimately aware of the difficulties facing a family trying to teach multiple ages simultaneously. For example, let’s assume you have been blessed with three children. How will you cope if you have to teach three lots of History lessons (all on different topics!), three lots of Geography lessons (yes… all on different topics!), three lots of Biology lessons (again…all on different topics!), three lots of Art lessons (oh no!… all on different topics!) Need we say more? It is quite likely that you will want to give up homeschooling after a week!

One Level of CONTENT STUDIES an be used to educate students in up to 3 grade levels simultaneously; viz. all the students in these 3 grade levels will be covering the same material at the same time, however their output will be different.

In a nutshell, our “CONTENT STUDIES” are a
sanity-preserver for parents and
working with more than one grade level
of children simultaneously!

    Each CONTENT STUDIES Level offers the
    following subjects from which you may choose:

  • Bible (Bible Study, Christian Character, Scripture Memorisation, Theology etc.)
  • History (World History, Ancient, Medieval, Early Modern, 20th Century + Extra Module South African History)
  • Critical Thinking (Traditional and Material Logic)
  • English Literature (Great Books, Classics, Biographies, Historical Novels & Wholesome Books)
  • Business Skills and Economics (With an Accounting Option in High School)
  • Art (Practical, Art Appreciation and History of Art)
  • Music (Music Appreciation)
  • Global Perspectives (Developing 21st century skills and understanding perspectives from around the globe.)
  • Geography (Map-work, Physical Geography, Geology, Astronomy)
  • Biology (Botany, Zoology, Ecology, Microbiology)
  • Science (Physics and Chemistry)
  • Technology
  • Human Anatomy (Including Physiology and First Aid)
  • Life Skills (Various)

Our CONTENT STUDIES span levels from as young as Grade 000 (+/-3 years old) using CS Level 000 right through to Grade 9 (+/-16 years of age), using CS Level 9.
They are sequential in offering, viz. CS Level 000, CS Level 00, CS Level 0, CS Level 1 etc., through to CS Level 9.

A new CS Level is completed every year, gradually working through all the Levels until completion of Level 9. Then you commence with Cambridge International GCSE (Grades 10 and 11) and AS-Levels (Grade 12), via our sister company - Imperial International College.

For guidance in choosing a CS Level to suit your child/children’s needs –
How To Choose Your Subjects.

For a list of the subject content per CS Level, please click the “Order” tab, at the top of the screen.


There are certain subjects in Love2Learn Curriculum, like Maths, Languages, Learning to Read and Write, Critical Thinking etc., that – unlike our CONTENT STUDIES – cannot be taught to multiple grade levels simultaneously because they are linear and sequential in nature.

For example, you cannot teach Grade 3 Maths to your Grade 1 child, as there are specific foundational concepts that they need to still acquire in Grades 1 and 2 Maths, before they can tackle Grade 3.

These subjects that cannot be taught to multiple grade levels of children at the same time, we call DISCIPLINE STUDIES.

They are foundational in nature, as each year a child will build on the knowledge they acquired in the previous years.

DISCIPLINE STUDIES  need to be ordered
per child by Grade,
as each child will be learning these separately, at their respective GRADE level.

Each Grade of DISCIPLINE STUDIES  comprises
the following subjects from which you may choose:

  • Mathematics  (Gr 00 – 9 and then Int. GCSE and AS-Levels)
  • English  (Including Phonics, Spelling, Writing, Grammar etc. – Gr 00 – 9 and then Int. GCSE and AS-Levels)
  • Afrikaans  (Home Language Gr 00 – 9 only and First Additional Language Gr 1 – 9 and then Int. GCSE and AS-Levels)
  • French  (First Additional Language Gr 1 – 9 and then Int. GCSE Level)
  • IsiZulu  Coming in 2022 (First Additional Language – Gr 1 – 9 and then Int. GCSE Level)
  • Computing  (Gr 1 – 9 and then Int. GCSE Level)
  • Latin  (Gr 4 – 9)
  • Critical Thinking  (Gr00 – Gr9)
  • STEM – Science, Technology, Engineering, Maths  (Gr00 – 6)
  • Creative Writing  (Gr1 – 6)
  • Vocabulary Building  (Gr 1 – 6)
  • Poetry  (Gr 1 – 9)
  • Learning to Read  (Gr 0 – 3)
  • Handwriting  (Gr 1 – 6 culminating in Calligraphy)
  • Foundational Skills  (Skills Readiness, Foundational Concepts, Gross & Fine Motor Development: Gr 00 – 0)


At Love2Learn we do not dictate the number of subjects you need to order from us.
Being modular, you are welcome to order as few or as many as you want,
in order to tailor-make a curriculum subject offering for your child.

In terms of the “compulsory” subjects that the Department of Basic Education in South Africa
requires that a student in the Foundation, Intermediate and Senior Phases
should ideally be covering as a minimum, please click here; and select the “Subject Information” tab.